From the President

Welcome to the North Carolina Political Science Association website! We are very happy you're interested in us.

The NCPSA is a forum for the discussion and dissemination of political science and all of its sub-fields. We are faculty members, we are graduate students, and we are undergraduate students. We enjoy learning from each other, and we embrace the opportunities for collaboration that are more easily found in a group smaller than the national association. We are especially proud of our promotion of the discipline among students, to keep the study of political science going strong!

We had a wonderful conference in February at Meredith College. Many thanks to all who contributed to the success of the conference, including our guest speaker, Tom Brunell of the University of Texas at Dallas, who delivered a fascinating keynote on the current state of gerrymandering law. Congratulations are due to our paper award winners:

  • Oral Parks Memorial Faculty Paper Award Winner: Charles Prysby, UNC Greensboro, "Changing Electoral Patterns in the American South"
  • Fidelity Investments Graduate Paper Award Winner: Faith M. Butta, UNC Charlotte, "Life After the Uniform: Women Veterans and Voter Turnout in Presidential Elections"
  • Troutman-Rainey Undergraduate Paper Award Winner: Cristy Villalobos, Meredith College, "Public Opinion of Voter Identifications in North Carolina"

We are very excited about our upcoming conference at Johnson C. Smith University in February 2019. Please stay tuned for the call for papers!

As always, the NCPSA welcomes new members. If you would like to join us, either as an individual member or as an institution, please see the links to the left.

Whitney Manzo
Meredith College